Punjab govt to develop border districts at a cost of Rs 1433.97 crore

Punjab News

Chandigarh/June 5
Punjab government on Wednesday sanctioned Rs 1433.97 crore to develop 18 blocks of six border districts of the state.
Punjab’s Chief minister Prakash Singh Badal today sanctioned the amount for the overall development and prosperity in the 18 blocks of six border districts of Amritsar, Ferozepur, Fazilka, Gurdaspur, Pathankot and Tarn Taran during 2013-14 to ensure better quality of life to the inhabitants of these difficult areas.
Badal asked the representatives of these border assembly segments to mobilize the local Panchayats, Municipal Committees and other local bodies to participate in the development works in a result oriented manner to ensure timely and quality completion of these projects.
“The elements of probity, accountability and transparency should be adhered to at all costs so that these funds meant for the welfare of the residents of the Border areas must be spent judiciously to provide the basic civic amenities to the people living in these difficult areas,” Badal said, adding that the funds allotted for these works from tax payer’s hard earned money must be utilized in the right earnest.
Outlining the broad contours of the package, the Chief Minister apprised the MLAs to spend these funds on the construction and repair of roads including link roads through PWD (B&R) and Mandi Board, implementation of potable water and sanitation schemes, strengthening and revamping of canals, water courses, channels and distributaries, upgradation of health care facilities, animal husbandry besides revamping the school and college infrastructure.
Badal directed the Chief Engineer canals to visit these areas personally and finalize the plan for de-silting and revamping of the canals, watercourses, channels and distributaries in consultation with the concerned MLAs so that the priority could be fixed for the execution of these works.
Badal sanctioned grant of Rs 83.15 crore for Ajnala, Rs 57.35 crore for Chogawan and Rs 51.67 crore for Attari block in Amritsar district. Further, an amount of Rs 214.13 crore for Ferozepur city, Rs 108.82 for Ferozepur Rural and Rs 62.48 crore for Guru Har Sahai in Ferozepur district was sanctioned.
Likewise. Rs 104.93 for Fazilka, Rs 186.12 for Jalalabad and Rs 224.96 crore for Khuian Sarver in Fazilka district, Rs 55.11 crore for Kalanaur, Rs 5.19 crore for Gurdaspur Block of Dera Baba Nanak assembly segment and Rs 48.98 crore and Rs 36.72 crore for Dinanagar and Dorangla Block respectively of Dina Nagar assembly constituency of Gurdaspur district, Rs 54.75 crore for Bamial and Rs 8.55 crore for Narot Jaimal Singh Block in Boha assembly segment of Pathankot district, Rs 78.07 crore for Bhikiwind and Rs 24.42 crore for Valtoha block of Khemkaran assembly segment in Tarn Taran district besides Rs 28.57 fcrore for Gandiwind block of Tarn Taran assembly segment was sanctioned.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.