Mandi bye-elections: Congress candidate Pratibha Singh wins by huge margin


Shimla/June 30
Congress candidate Pratibha Singh, the wife of Himachal CM Virbhadra, on Sunday won the Mandi Parliamentary seat by defeating BJP candidate Jai Ram Thakur by a huge margin of 1,36,724 votes.
Congress candidate Pratibha Singh got 3,53,492 votes while BJP candidate Jai Ram Thakur managed to get 2,16,768 votes in the Mandi Lok Sabha bye-election. Meanwhile, independent candidates Subhas Mohan Snehi got 6057 votes and Lavan Thakur of PRISM party received 5932 votes.
Mandi Loksabha seat fell vacant in December last year after Virbhadra Singh led Congress party won assembly elections and he was elected as Chief Minister for a record sixth term.
Polling in the constituency was held on June 23 and 27 in two phases and a total of 54 percent voters exercised their franchise in two phase of voting.
The Mandi constituency is one of the second largest constituency, in terms of area, which includes Kullu, Mandi, some areas of Chamba and Shimla districts and tribal districts of Kinnaur and Lahaul- Spiti.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.