SAD wins Moga by-elections

Chandigarh/February 28
Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate Joginder Pal Jain today won the Moga by-election with a margin of 18849 votes.
An Election Commission spokesperson said that Jain defeated the Indian National Congress candidate, Sathi Vijay Kumar by 18849 votes. “Out of total 130300 votes counted during 14 rounds of counting, Jain has got 69269 votes, while his rival, Sathi has bagged 50420 votes,” said the spokesperson.
Meanwhile, Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal described the landslide victory of the SAD-BJP alliance in the Moga by-poll as “a forceful mandate for the agenda of peace, development and communal harmony, and a victory of clean politics over negative tactics such as mudslinging, character assassination and issueless policies.