Virbhadra Singh to be the next Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Shimla/ December 22

Former Union Minister Virbhadra Singh, would be  the next Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. This was decided in the Congress Legislative Party meeting here on late evening. Singh had  led the Congress to victory in the Himachal Pradesh elections.

Earlier in meeting the newly elected Congress legislators in Himachal Pradesh had adopted a one-line resolution authorizing party chief Sonia Gandhi to announce the next chief minister.

The resolution was moved by Singh, the Congress’s state chief, and seconded by Vidya Stokes, who won the elections for the eighth time.

Virbhadra Singh had hold this post earlier for the five times and this would be his sixth term as Himachal Chief Minister.

The opposition Congress has defeated BJP in this assembly polls by winning 36 seats by restricting the BJP to 24 seats.


The meeting that was held at party headquarters in Shimla in the evening was attended by more than 30 newly-elected legislators.

Besides Dwivedi, Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and AICC general secretary in charge of Himachal Pradesh Birender Singh attended the meeting.

A prominent Congress  leader from Mandi, Kaul Singh Thakur was also in the race for this top post of Chief Minister in Himachal.

Sources said that keeping in the view Loksabha elections due next year, the highc ommand has again shown faith in Virbhadra Singh.

Virbhadra Singh, after resigning from the post of Union Minister had took the charge of the post of state Congress president and had given new lease of life to the party by leading it to the victory in HP assembly polls.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *