ECI launches electoral rolls search facility for voters


Chandigarh/April 14
The Election Commission of India (ECI) has launched a unique initiative of ‘Electoral Roll Search Facility’ to enable voters to search their names and polling stations in the nation wide electoral rolls. This service could be availed through internet on mobiles, tablets or computers, and SMS through mobiles. Besides this, the Bathinda DEO has also developed an Android based application ‘i vote’ which could be downloaded from Google App and a voter can by typing his EPIC number not only confirm his polling booth but also the way leading to that booth.
Interacting with media persons here today, Supreet Singh Gulati, Additional CEO said that Punjab was one of the 16 states where this service has already started. He said that internet users could access the information by following ‘Voter search’ link provided on the website of ECI i.e. Mobile internet users could also access the services through a specially designed website i.e. Besides this, android phone based users could avail this service by installing an application from the Mobile Seva Appstore of the government ( under electoral category).
He further said that SMS users could access the information by sending preformatted SMS to predefined numbers. The services are available on a special three digit code 166 provided for BSNL, Idea, MTNL, Tata Docomo, Tata Indicom and Vodafone users. A special five digit code 51969 was provided by operators such as Aircel, Airtel, BSNL, Idea, MTS, Reliance, Tata Docomo, Tata Indicom, Uninor, Videocon and Vodafone for the same service. Besides this any user could access the service by sending the SMS to a 10 digit number i.e.09223166166. He said that to access the services through SMS, voters must send a preformatted SMS with a word ‘ECI’ followed by details such as Name, Name of Father/Husband, Locality, Age or Date of Birth and Gender separated by commas.
The Additional CEO said that while the service itself was free of cost, the users may need to bear the cost of SMS for internet access as per their service plan with their phone or internet operators.
It may be mentioned here that at present this service is available with Electoral data from 14 states and Union Territories namely Arunachal Pradesh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Nagaland, Pondicherry, Punjab, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.
Gulati further informed that all the DEOs have completed randomization of polling staff thereby informing them about the assembly constituency where they would be put in for election duty. He clarified that the polling staff would be told about the polling station for their duty just before one day i.e. April 29 from the date of polling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.