52 percent polling registered in Mandi Parliamentary By-Poll


Shimla/ June 23
Himachal’s Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan on Sunday said that around 52 percent voting was recorded in Mandi Parliamentary Constituency by-elections and they haven’t any report of untoward incident from any polling station.
“The polling, however, started slowly in the early hours and till the reports reaching headquarters by 10.00 AM, Lahaul and Spiti registered 19.91 percent followed by Seraj and Jogindernagar with 18.62 percent and 16.01 percent respectively. The voters turn out was 13.79 percent approximately by 10 AM in 16 constituencies where bypoll were conducted except the disaster hit of district of Kinnaur where the election will take place on 27th of this month,” Chauhan said.
Chauhan said that four candidates were in fray and there were 10,72,725 voters of five districts viz: Bharmour of district Chamba, Lahaul and Spiti, Kullu, Mandi and Rampur assembly segment of district Shimla.
As per reports received from State Election Commission, the percentage of polling picked up by noon and approximately 27.23 percentage of polling was recorded between 10.00 am to 12.00 noon with 39.82 percent polling in Lahaul-Spiti, in Seraj (36.66 percent) followed by Jogindernagar (32.47 percent) and Rampur (32.10 percent). Till reports reaching by 12.00 noon the lowest voter turn out was in District Kullu which was 17.82 percent approximately.
By 2.00 PM the total polling percentage was 38.68 percent, the highest voting was registered at Lahaul-Spiti (50.20 percent) followed by Seraj (49.29 percent) and Rampur registering (44.68 percent).
The polling gradually picked up later and as per reports, the voting trend by 4.00 PM showed that Nachan Assembly Constituency registered 81.04 percent polling followed by Seraj 55.83 percent and Balh assembly constituency where 52.63 percent polling was recorded.
The highest polling percentage of 66 percent was reported from Seraj assembly constituency whereas Kullu assembly segment registered lowest polling percentage of 41 percent.
Narinder Chauhan said that all 1803 polling parties along with polled Electoral Voting Machines (EVMs) were expected to reach their respective collection centres under tight security and necessary arrangements had been made to keep them in safe custody till counting of the votes on June 30. He said that the counting will take place on June 30 at 8.00 am in the morning.
According to Chauhan, the total percentage of voter turnout was approximately 60.27 percent, in Bharmour assembly segment in Lahaul & Spiti 60.40 percent approximately, in Rampur assembly segment it stood at 56.22 percent approximately, in Kullu District 47 percent and in Mandi District 54 percent approximately.
The polling percentage in Banjar AC was reported 46.96 percent, in Anni 51.16 percent, in Karsog 46.12 percent in Sundernagar 50.15 percent, in Nachan 54.82 percent, in Seraj 65.23 percent, in Darang 49.82 percent, in Jogindernagar 54.53 percent, in Balh 58.57 percent and in Sarkaghat segment 50.51 percent approximately.
The Seraj assembly constituency reported highest 65.23 percent polling whereas Kullu registered the lowest percentage of polling at 40.81 percent.
Himachal’s Chief Minister, Virbhadra Singh voted his vote at Padam Singh Memorial Government School in Rampur Bushehar Polling Station along-with family members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.