Noted filmmaker Pahlaj Nihalani appointed Censor Board chairman

North Gazette News/New Delhi
Noted filmmaker Pahlaj Nihalani was on Monday appointed Censor Board (CBFC) Chairman by the Government of India.

Indian government spokesperson said that Pahlaj Nihalani has been appointed as Chairperson (honorary capacity) of the Central Board of Film Certification with immediate effect.

“Pahalaj Nihlani has been appointed Chairman Censor Board for a period of three years or until further orders or whichever is earlier,” the spokesperson said.

An Information & Broadcasting minister official said nine members to the Central Board of Film Certification has also been appointed with immediate effect for a period of three years and until further orders.

“The new nine members of the Censor Board include Mihir Bhuta, Prof Syed Abdul Bari, Ramesh Patange, George Baker, Dr Chandra Prakash Dwivedi, Jeevitha, Vani Tripathi Tikoo, S Ve Shekhar and Ashoke Pandit,” the spokesperson added.

These posts had fallen vacant after the resignation of Leela Samson, the CBFC chief and nine other members few days after Censor Board’s nod to Dera Sacha Sauda Chief Gurmeet Ram Raheem’s film, ‘Massenger of God’.

Samson along with Censor Board members had resigned from their posts, alleging cavalier and dismissive manner in which CBFC is being treated by the Centre government.