India releases list of 24 winners of National Bravery Awards 2014

North Gazette News/New Delhi
Indian government on Saturday released the list of winners of National Bravery Awards 2014 in which 24 children including 8 girls have been selected for acts of bravery against all odds.

Indian government spokesperson said that the 24 children would be conferred with National Bravery Awards 2014 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on January 24, 2015 and they would also participate in the Republic Day parade.

“The National Bravery Awards are conferred to recognise those children who distinguished themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their examples,” the spokesperson said, adding that out of the total 24 awards, four would be given conferred posthumously.

The spokesperson said that the coveted Bharat Award for showing exceptionally gallant deed has been conferred on 16-year-old Resham Fatma of Uttar Pradesh, a victim of Acid attack, for putting on a brave face while fighting off her tormentor.

“While the prestigious Geeta Chopra Award has been conferred on 13-year-old Gunjan Sharma of Assam who displayed exemplary valour in saving her friends from the clutches of the abductor. The Sanjay Chopra Award has been given to 16-year-old Devesh Kumar of Uttar Pradesh who displayed outstanding courage while confronting two chain-snatchers,” he said.

He said that Rumoh Meto (13 years) of Arunachal Pradesh, Late Riya Chaudhary (15 years) of Uttar Pradesh and Late Monika (16 years) of Uttarakhand have been given the Bapu Gaidhani Awards. “Rumoh Meto saved a person from electrocution, Riya Chaudhary sacrificed her life while trying to save her father when some miscreants, who attacked her family members. While Monika lost her life while trying to save a child from drowning,” he said.

He added that the other recipients are Zeal Jitendra Marathe, Hiral Jitubhai Halpati and Late Gaurav Kumar Bharti (all from Gujarat), Sahanesh R (Karnataka), Ashwini Bandu Ughade (Maharashtra), L Brainson Singh and G Tooldev Sharma (both from Manipur), Ripa Das (Tripura), Balram Dansena (Chhattisgarh), Rajdeep Das (Jharkhand), Anjith P, Aqil Mohammad NK and Midhun PP (all from Kerala), Stevenson Lawriniang (Meghalaya), Late Mesak K Remnalalnghaka (Mizoram), MhonbeniEqung (Nagaland), Labhanshu (Uttarakhand) and Late Gaurav Kumar Bharti (Uttar Pradesh).

“The selection is made by a high powered committee comprising representatives of various Ministries/Departments, non-governmental organisations as well as Office Bearers of Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW),” he added.

The President of India and several other dignitaries would also host receptions in their honour. Several states also organize functions to honour them at the state level.

The National Bravery Award Scheme was initiated by the ICCW to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their examples.

It was in 1957 that two children, a boy and a girl, were first rewarded for their presence of mind and courage. Since then ICCW decided to confer national awards on children every year.

In 1987-88 ICCW instituted the Bharat Award for an exceptionally outstanding, meritorious and gallant deed. The other special awards include the Geeta Chopra and Sanjay Chopra awards (instituted by ICCW in 1978) and the BapuGaidhani Awards (instituted in 1988-89).

The awardees receive a medal, certificate and cash.Eligible awardees will be granted financial assistance until they complete their schooling. Some State Governments also provide financial assistance to them.

In addition, ICCW provides financial assistance under its Indira Gandhi Scholarship Scheme to those undertaking professional courses such as engineering and medicine. For the others, this assistance is provided till they complete their graduation. The Government of India has reserved some seats for the awardees in medical and engineering colleges and polytechnics.