Punjab declares gazetted, restricted holidays for 2015

Punjab government has declared public holiday on November 16, 2015.

Punjab government on Thursday declared public holiday on September 22 instead of September 23 to commemorate the birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji. Click here to read more http://northgazette.com/news/2015/09/17/punjab-declares-public-holiday-on-sept-22-instead-of-sept-23/

North Gazette News/Chandigarh
Punjab government on Monday declared the list of gazetted and restricted holidays for 2015. As per reports, there would be 33 gazetted holidays and 19 restricted holidays in 2015. Out of the 19 restricted holidays, an employee can choose two days to observe as holidays.

Public Offices will remain closed for Basant Panchmi and Satguru Ram Singh’s birthday (January 24), Republic Day (January 26); Sri Guru Ravidas’s birthday (February 3); Maha Shivaratri (February 17); Holi (March 06).

Similarly Shahidi Divas of Bhagat Singh (March 23); Ram Navami (March 28); Mahavir Jayanti (April 02); Good Friday (April 03); Baisakhi and Dr. B.R.Ambedkar’s Birthday (April 14) ; Parshuram Jayanti (April 21); May Day (May 1); Guru Arjun Dev’s Martyrdom day (May 22); Kabir Jayanti (June 02); Id-ul-Fitr (July 18) have also been declared public holidays.
The government offices on Shahid Udham Singh’s martyrdom day (July 31); Independence Day (August 15); Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahibi Ji (September 01)l Janamashtami (Sptember 5); Baba Sri Chand’s birthday (September 23); Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) (September 25); Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji (September 28); Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday (October 2); Birthday of Sri Guru Ram Dass Ji (October 9) will also remain close.

Agarsain Jayanti ( October 13); Dussehra (October 22); Maharish Valmiki’s birthday (October 27); Diwali (November 11); Vishwakarma day (November 12); Guru Teg Bahadur’s martyrdom day (November 24); Guru Nanak Dev’s birthday (November 25); and Christmas (December 25) have also been declared public holidays. Besides the above holidays each employee will also be permitted to avail himself or herself any two holidays to be chosen by him or her out of the restrict holidays.

The restricted holidays in the Calendary, 2015 are New Year Day (January 1); Id-e-Milad (January 04); Lohri (January 13); Nirwan Diwas of Bhagwan Adinath Ji (January 19); Hola Mohalla (March 6); International Women Day (March 8); Buddh Purnima (May 04); Nirjala Ekadashi (May 29). While Death Anniversary of Maharaja Ranjit Singh Ji (June 29); Birthday of Baba Jiwan Singh Ji (September 5); Anant Chaturdashi (September 27); Birthday of Baba Banda Singh Ji Bahadur (October 16); Muharram (October 24) ; Birthday of Sant Nam Dev Ji (October 26); Karva Chauth (October 30); New Punjab Day (November 1); Goverdhan Pooja (November 12); Id-E-Milad (December 24); and Jor Mela Fatehgarh Sahib (December 25,26 and 27) have also been declared public holidays.

Public Holidays in Punjab during the Calendar year 2015 within the meaning of Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 are Birthday of Republic Day (January 26); Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidass Ji (Feburary 03); Holi (March 06); Ram Naumi (March 28); Bank Holiday (April 1); Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji (May 22). While others will fall on Idu’I Fitr (July 18); Independence Day (August 15); Janmashtami (September 5); Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi Ji (October 2); Dussehra (October 22); Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji (October 27); Diwali (November 11); Dirthday of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji (November 25) and Christmas day (December 25).