Panchayat bypoll result declared

North Gazette News/Shimla
A spokesperson of the State Election Commission said here on Monday that the by-election process for filling up of 251 posts of Panchayati Raj Institutions had been completed with the announcement of election results of Panchayat Samitis and Zila Parishads.

He said that yesterday the election process of electing 26 pradhans, 16 up pradhans and 23 members of gram panchayats, besides a ward member of Nagar Panchayat Sarkaghat was completed and 180 office bearers were already elected unopposed.

He said that 58210 electors exercised their right of franchise out of which 84 voters used the option NOTA. He said that Krishan Gopal from Khawangi-4 Ward of Zila Parishad Kinnaur had been declared winner whereas Saroj Kumari from Chaubin-24 ward of District Kangra had already been elected unopposed.

He said that Vimla of ward No. 11 and Meera Devi of ward No. 14 in Panchayat Samiti Mandi were declared elected. Dilip Singh from Ward No.5 of Panchayat Samiti Narkand, Leela Devi from Panchayat Samiti Nirmand in district Kullu and Rajesh Sharma from Nagrota Surian of Kangra district were declared elected. As many as eight members of Panchayat Samitis were elected unopposed.

T G Negi, State Election Commissioner thanked all the voters for actively participated in the election process.