Show-cause notice issued to 85 Himachal Congress leaders

Shimla/May 7
Taking strong exception of the alleged anti party activities by its leaders and cadres during state’s assembly elections that were held in December, Himachal Pradesh Congress committee on Monday issued to 85 party leaders.
These leaders includes former ministers Natha Singh and Satya Prakash Thakur, former Deputy Speaker Ram Nath Sharma and an ex-MLA Roop Singh along with many former and present office bearers of district and block Congress party.
Over 300 complaints were filed by Congress party’s assembly election candidates for anti party activities by lower rung leaders.
Sources in Congress Party said that around 50 more party leaders and cadres will issued show cause notice soon as about 140 leaders were identified in the first for disciplinary action.
Some candidates had submitted documentary evidence in support of their complaints and these 85 leaders have been given two weeks time to file their replies after which action will be taken against them as per merit.
Himachal Congress party had already expelled 24 rebels leaders who had fought elections against official candidates after the elections were declared in December. Further, Congress’s block units of Una, Bangana, Seraj and Poanta Sahib were dissolved due to rebellion by majority of its local leaders.
Meanwhile, Ghumarwin, Nalagarh, Arki and Doon constituencies have five leaders each who are facing party whip for revolting against party’s orders. Four leaders from Chopal area have been issued show cause notice while three leaders each from 13 constituencies are due to face party’s ire for dissidence.
Himachal Congress had earlier suspended Doon MLA Ram Kumar Chaudhary who was arrested in a murder case by Panchkula police while state INTUC president Hardeep Bawa was suspended after he was arrested in an old case.