PM Manmohan Singh elected to Rajya Sabha for fifth consecutive term

New Delhi/May 30
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was on Thursday re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Assam for the fifth consecutive term as Congress won both the seats in the elections that were conducted in Guwahati today.
Assam’s Legislative Assembly Principal Secretary and Returning officer GP Das said that Singh got 49 first preference votes while Congress’s second candidate got 45 votes.
All the 78 Congress members and its ally Bodoland Peoples Front’s 12 members had voted for Singh meanwhile opposition parties, Asom Gana Parishad and BJP, who have nine and five MLAs respectively, had abstained from voting.
After the re-election, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said, “It is a great honour for me that the people of Assam, through their elected representatives in the State’s Legislative Assembly, have given me an opportunity to serve them again.” “I have been representing Assam in the Rajya Sabha ever since 1991 and in this period it has been my constant endeavour to work for the State’s development and prosperity to the best of my ability,” Singh added.