Election result of Panchayat samiti and Zila Parishad in Punjab

Chandigarh/May 22
Ruling SAD-BJP alliance have won 2579 seats in Zila parishad and Panchayat samiti elections whose results were declared by Punjab’s State Election Commission (SEC) on Wednesday.
“Out of the total 2731 seats of Panchayat Smitis result of 2729 seats have been declared in which SAD-BJP alliance has won 2122 seats while congress recorded win on 454 seats whereas others got 153 seats,” said a SEC spokesperson, adding that the result of zone no.20 (Nadhor) of panchayat samiti Patti in Tarn Taran district has been countermanded. One result of Miga panchayat samiti moga has been stayed whereas two results of zila parishad of Ludhiana district are still awaited.
Meanwhile in Zila parishad elections, SAD-BJP combine managed to grab 297 seats out of the declared result of 329 seats whereas Congress won 26 and others succeeded to gain 6 seats.
The SEC spokesperson added that for the ZPs total 760 and for panchayat samiti 5786 candidates were in fray and for the ZPs 30 and for PSs 229 candidates have won their election unopposed.