Himachal to re-open all ‘Writers Home’: Virbhadra Singh

Shimla/March 31
Himachal Pradesh government will re-open all the ‘Writers Home’ which were closed during previous BJP regime, said Chief Minister, Virbhadra Singh while conferring “Lifetime Achievement Awards” to five Veteran Litterateurs of the state at function organized by ‘Himalaya Sahitya and Sanskriti Manch Himachal Pradesh’ here today.
Virbhadra Singh said that Congress Government had set up Writers Home in all districts but previous Government overlooked this scheme and all the writers home were closed one by one.
“Sanskriti Sadan at Dharamshala was set up at a cost of Rs. 60 lakhs which had now been given to Central University for its camp office,” Singh said adding that the government has decided to hand over this building for writers after the construction of university building was complete.
Meanwhile, Singh conferred the Lifetime Achievement Awards to Satyen Sharma, Dr. Molu Ram Thakur, Sunder Lohia, Ram Dayal Neeraj and Saroj Vashisth for their outstanding and long lasting creative contribution to literature.
Virbhadra Singh said that the government would provide free traveling facility to the State Awardees and Academy Awardees in Himachal Road Transport Corporation buses besides purchasing books worth Rs. 20,000 written by Himachali writers. He said that these announcements were made by him during the Academy Award Ceremony held at Hotel Holiday Home in 2007.
The Chief Minister said that previous government was insensitive towards writers who were contributing a lot in the field of literature and had not presented any Academy and State awards to them during last five years. He said that previous BJP government during its tenure manipulated several awards from agencies.
Virbhadra Singh congratulated the Lifetime Achievement Award winners and said that the state government was committed to preserve and promote art and culture of the state and would also seek the cooperation of writers, artists, and cultural artists. He lauded the efforts of Himalaya Sahitya and Sanskriti Manch to honour the veteran writers in reorganization of their literary contribution for the society.