HP's lad Suresh Rana wins 25th Thunderbolt Sub-Himalayan Rally


Himachal’s lad and winner of 13th Raid de Himalaya Rally, Suresh Rana with his team-mate Ashwin Naik successfully defended their top position and were declared the winners in the Gypsy category of the 25th SJOBA-Thunderbolt Sub-Himalayan Rally. Just 3 seconds behind, the Indian Army Team of Amrinder Singh Brar and Vijaypal Singh took the second position while the team of Harpreet Singh Bawa and Virender Kashyap came in third. The team trophies were taken by the Thunderbolt and the Indian Army teams. This was announced by, President SJOBA Shivneet Singh here on Tuesday.
Over the past two days, the rallysist drove over 540 kilometres, a majorpart of which was in Himachal Pradesh. After being flagged off  from St. Johns School, Chandigarh, the rallyists raced to Trilokpur and then to Morni from where they reached Badisher. They then sped on to Thapli, Mallah, Bhojnagar, Ashinikhad and Jhaja to reach Chail Palace, where they had Lunch.  From there they moved to Chalanda, Tehra and Koti Villge to
reach Koti Resorts, where the Leg ended.

Giving details of the other results, Mr. S P S Ghai, Clerk-of-the-Course said, “In the Cars category, the team of Dhirender Kumar and Honey Narula outclassed the other competitors and took the top position while the team of Udai Bir Sidhu and Simran Sangha came in second. In third position was the team of  Jagbir Nirwan and Shivkaran Mokha.
In the Bikes category, M S Prince Singh  was first, Umang Saxena second while the third slot was taken by Ashwin Kataria.
In the Time, Speed and Distance (TSD) Category, the team of Suneesh Kumar and Dheeraj Arora drove away with the top position while Ganesh Murthy and T Nagarajan came second.

A visibly satisfied Suresh Rana said, “We had won the SJOBA Rally last year and led all the way this year too. In fact, in the final stage we had a puncture, but we decided to carry on and still managed to drive with the flat tyre and reach the checkpost. It’s a great feeling to win the SJOBA Rally again.”
The winners will be presented their trophies and cash prizes at a
glittering ceremony to be held at the Chandigarh Club.   The total prize money is Rs. 200,000.